Getting Organized

Throughout the summer I began collecting research so that once the fall semester began, I would be able to sort through it all and pull out what could help me with my thesis. The research includes medical websites, scientific journals, blogs for parents of hypotonic children and assorted articles that focus on designing for children with disabilities. Before I begin sorting out all of the information that I have collected the past couple of months, I decided to create a list of three stages that I will tackle by the end of this process:

Stage 1: Understanding hypotonia.

– what is it exactly?

– what are the symptoms?

– how moderate to severe is it?

– statistics?

– age group to focus on? (infant to 3 year old? 3 year old to 6 year old?)

 Stage 2: Helping children with hypotonia with the use of design.

– what symptoms affect them physically?

– how does this have an affect on their daily life?

– what actions/movements can help them gain strength?

 Stage 3: The positive effects of design for children with hypotonia.

– should the designs focus on helping them with daily activities or making them stronger/more independent?

– what are the exact problems I am trying to solve?

– what human interactions am I trying to positively affect?

– what type of design can be used to help (i.e., furniture, environment, toys, household products, etc.)?

– how can each of these individual designs help them?

– how can these designs work together to help them get stronger & more independent?

Leave a Reply

